Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Ballad of a Barefoot Heel Striker page

WhatAboutJason is offline Junior Member

The Ballad of a Barefoot Heel Striker

Primal Fuel
    I have been running in Vibram Five FIngers for about 7 months now. It seems as though i am still a chronic heel striker.
    I wrote a short post over on my blog about it....I would love some advice form some fellow barefoot runners!

The Ballad of a Barefoot Heel Striker
    Barefoot runner, Paleo enthusiast, oh and i'm probably Batman too.

Visit my Blog! WhatAboutJason

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    I have some advice: stop heel-striking.

Throw out your VFFs, do some actual barefoot runs, your mechanics can't be that awful (or you can't be so hard-headed) as to heel-strike when barefoot. Mostly because it hurts and your body will adopt.

Bend your knees, think about having your hips over your knees as you land, head forward, torso up, etc. It shouldn't feel like you're uncomfortably trying to hold this position though, it really should be natural.

Nothing was more natural to me than mid-foot striking when barefoot.

jqbancroft is offline Senior Member
    You might also consider looking up Pose running. I have always naturally ran on my forefoot, but didn't know I was doing it "right." When I started really running, I looked up Pose running to perfect my technique.

Best of luck!

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by iniQuity View Post

Throw out your VFFs, do some actual barefoot runs, your mechanics can't be that awful (or you can't be so hard-headed) as to heel-strike when barefoot. Mostly because it hurts and your body will adopt.

Bend your knees, think about having your hips over your knees as you land, head forward, torso up, etc. It shouldn't feel like you're uncomfortably trying to hold this position though, it really should be natural.

Nothing was more natural to me than mid-foot striking when barefoot.
    100% agree.