Thread: Primal foods for college kids? page

MissMagenta Guest

Shop Now

So, like a lot of people, I'm new to Primal living. I've always been a Carb Queen, so making the switch isn't easy, and being in college doesn't help. I know it'll be worth it in the end, but right now I'm having a tough time.

Mainly, it's from lack of options. Growing up in a family of foodies, I'm used to a lot of variety. Eating out of a dining hall two meals a day limits what your options and being primal, even more so (we happen to be in an agricultural center but specialize in pizza, french fries, and ice cream. go figure...)

So, to cut to the chase:

I've been trying to keep good, healthy primal foods in my dorm room to snack and munch on when the dining hall just isn't enough. Right now I've got carrots, celery, eggs, and fruit.

I've been wanting to try some of the cool recipes I've been seeing on this site, but my main problem is price. I'm on a budget and coconut oil, almond flour, etc. are quite expensive and I have to save up for textbooks next semester.

Does anybody know any recipies that are relatively low-budget (like flax meal ($3.50) vs. almond flour ($13.50)) that someone with basic culinary knowledge could cook up? (especially baking, i LOVE to bake!) As much as I love eggs, they're getting repetitive...

Thanks so much!

kongluirong is offline Junior Member

Hi MissMagenta! It looks like you've got a good start with what you have available. I understand the whole college thing...I'm just getting out of it myself. What I am finding is that I need to experiment substituting stuff. As for cooking oils, if you have access to a Costco or something like that, you can stock up on EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) for relatively inexpensive - or you could just stick to butter for your cooking fat.