Thread: Irvingia gabonensis? page

Hedonist is offline Senior Member

Irvingia gabonensis?

Shop Now
    Today Mercola is pushing Irvingia gabonensis for leptin sensitivity etc. Snake oil or valuable supplement?

Apparently there are lots of scam Irvingia products out there. I'm inclined to think Mercola's does at least contain the real stuff. Expensive, of course. Any thoughts?
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Paleobird Guest

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Jury still out.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

ottercat is offline Senior Member
    When the researcher who owns the product rights is the only one publishing results, it's time to be suspicious! Also, a perusal of Google Scholar shows that of the 21 papers that cited the 2009 paper, none were peer reviewed journals. Just bloggers and the like.

Tom Venuto has an interesting article and he runs the numbers for you. If this stuff does what it allegedly does, it would have to raise your metabolism an extra 1400 calories per day.
    Cooking Primal with Otter - Journal
    Otter's (Defunct) Primal Log
    "Not baked goods, Professor, baked bads!" ~ The Tick

DFH
    DFH is offline Senior Member