Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Becoming a nutrition advocate?

Becoming a nutrition advocate?

Shop Now
    I've been thinking a lot lately.

I live in Mississippi. This state is the the lowest in pretty much EVERY health marker. There was recently a study that colon cancer rates have dropped in every state BUT this one.

People here honestly have no idea what they're eating. They have no idea what it's doing to their body. They need a nutrition advocate--someone to teach them how to be healthy and how food affects their body.

I'd LOVE to do this. I'd love to teach people how to be healthy and how food affects their body and mind, but I have NO IDEA what I would use as a springboard to this. I have ZERO science background.

Anyone do anything like this? Ideas?

ShannonPA (that's an approximation... Y'know who I mean?) wrote on another post that she had trouble counseling diabetics in Detroit because they didn't even know what a carb was. I wrote a blog post that if you started with myplate and it didn't work, at least you learned something. It made me think of my fifth grade class where I really learned the food groups. Without an "agenda" you may be able to get into the schools if you were able to create a value-added presentation just on that. It's a start.
    “In God we trust; all others must bring data.” W. Edwards Deming
    Blogging at http://loafingcactus.com

I'm actually already in schools. It's for a COMPLETELY different purpose, but I'm there.

Physical education here is pretty much ZERO actual education. Students aren't taught anything about food or food groups or what they mean.

From what I've heard, you won't be learning about anything but CW nutrition if you take classes in college. I've heard tales of having to lie about answers on tests because the answer they want is wrong. If you're willing to put up with stuff like that, you could get some initials after your name so people take you seriously.