Thread: The Affordable Primal Blueprint page

Canadian is offline Junior Member

Shop Now

I'm new to the PB. I'm reading that you should eat only organic grass fed meat and nothing processed. When looking on organic grassfed meat sites the prices are very high.

Does anyone know a place to get a good quality meat at affordable prices?

Thanks.

emmcubed Guest

Tough question. I guess this is one of those inherent difficulties in choosing to go primal. My wife and I are both teachers, hence, funds are limited and we are paid only once a month. It certainly is difficult to adjust financially to the primal lifestyle.

However...

I have found that while on the front end, the grocery bill seems high, that the returns are significant. We seem to eat far less frequently than we did before and the meats are much more satisfying. When I discovered MDA, I was also reading "Omnivore's Dilemma" by Michael Pollan. One of his tenets is to "pay more, eat less". We've found that this concept gels very well with the primal lifestyle. We choose to foot the bill, so to speak, so that we will earn the benefits in the long run (ie. having not eaten meats that are heavily laden with toxic substances).

What area of the country are you located in? I have a URL that might help you locate some locally raised, pastured meats.

PrimalK is offline Junior Member

Whilst the ideal is to eat organic etc, the idea isn't to bankrupt yourself in the process! Why not buy the best quality food you can afford whilst you're making the transition to primal? Emmcubed is right, you will probably eat less frequently and the meals will be more satisfying, hence you need to buy less quantity. I know that our shopping bills have decreased significantly, yet we eat far more quality meat than we did before.

NorthernMonkeyGirl is offline Senior Member

Another vote for "spend more, eat less". Not a conscious decision, it just happens.