Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Converting kids to PB - eliminate wheat first? page

Betho is offline Senior Member

Converting kids to PB - eliminate wheat first?

Shop Now
    I'm sort of mulling over how I'm going to get my kids switched over to a more primal way of eating and I definitely need to take it in baby steps. One kid I think will take pretty readily to it but the other I know is a carb/grain/sugar fiend and she'll be a little more tricky. So, I think to eliminate one thing at a time would work best, but I'm not sure where to go on that. Is wheat the biggest culprit? We have a lot of habits that need to be changed before we can go primal completely as a family (I'm still learning it myself, this is only my third week in), but I think wheat could be a decent first step and would be a lot easier eliminated in one step as opposed to sugar which I think will need to be done over a little longer period of time.

Am I correct in thinking this?

Fairychilde is offline Senior Member
    I think wheat, sugar, and all processed boxed foods should be the first to go. If you need to break that up in steps then that is o.k but all of those things need to go first. After you have removed those bad foods from the diet then I would work on cutting out other grains and also dairy that is not organic and full-fat.

At the same time that you are removing foods you can try to add some new foods that will take the place of the bad foods. My 3 year old daughter really loves eggs, kale chips, organic full-fat fermented dairy products, nuts/seeds, and most organic grassfed meats
    Jaime, wife to Phaedrus and primal mama to A (4) and X (1).

belinda is offline Senior Member
    I've greatly cut down on my daughter's waffle consumption by giving her a scrambled egg and a slice or two of bacon first

My goal now is to switch her over gradually to more primal carbs and fats as she needs to put on some weight.