Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New study - it's all about snacking page

Hedonist is offline Senior Member

New study - it's all about snacking

Shop Now
    Energy Density, Portion Size, and Eating Occasions: Contributions to Increased Energy Intake in the United States, 1977–2006

The main conclusion of this study is that we are getting fatter because we snack more often.

Most of us would agree that "grazing" isn't the way to go but . . . .

The implication seems to be that we need to be careful to avoid temptations to snack. Why do we snack so much? Not really covered. Could it be because we are pushed to eat lots of grain carbs and because everything we eat is loaded with HFCS? Hmmm.
    Last edited by Hedonist; 07-01-2011 at 10:22 AM.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

ProtoAlex is offline Senior Member
    Easy to dismiss the weight of their arguments:
    The more out of whack that your insulin regulation is, the more your body will need constant input of energy to avoid the highs and lows associated with hypo/hyperglycemia. Once you get to this prediabetic/diabetic state then you're already well addicted to full on snacking. Because the study did not differentiate between high insulinogenic snacks and low carb snacks there's no way to say if this had any effect.
    "You can demonstrate the purpose and limits of human digestion with a simple experiment: eat a steak with some whole corn kernels, and see what comes out the other end. It won’t be the steak."
    -J.Stanton

loafingcactus is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ProtoAlex View Post