Thread: New to Primal & Cholesterol page

JayDPiii is offline Junior Member

New to Primal & Cholesterol

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I am new to Primal recommended by a paddling (Kayaking) club member,
    who also is a natural chiropractor. I had been following ZONE diet (similar in many ways) for 7 years.
    Only just got interested in exercise last August, after being a couch potato, except for kayaking. Started hiking and bicycling again, last summer, as well. It was the hiking and out-of-shape up mountains and losing last 10 lbs that got me to finally consider exercise.
    Anyway, ZONE is similar diet/eating/lifestyle in many ways. Been taking Fisk Oil, Vitamin D etc for 7 years, now. I have a question about the Appo-B number on my cholesterol test. 8 years ago before doing any diet/health changes my total Cholesterol was 264. Dr. (a shame he moved, was conservative) suggested diet and exercise. One year later, after no change in my lifestyle, my cholesterol was 284. Dr. prescribed Zocor 20 mg for 90 days, and again suggested a diet and lifestyle change. With my weight also being up decided to make a change. Hated diet books, all seemed extreme (and most are). Wife happened to bring home Omega-Rx Zone that week, and having off the rest of the day from work for Dr. appt., I decided to read this, another "diet" book. Well this was more science backed-up and more about lifestyle and not "diet". I decided to give it a try including a high Quality Fish Oil / Omega-3.
    45 days into 90 day Zocor, I was on a 1-week business trip. Upon return, I found I could not find the Zocor. Oh well, I thought, let me really put eating lifestyle change to the test. After 90 days returned to Dr. and cholesterol was 224! (And weight was down, too.)
    So after 7 years of maintaining, I finally started exercising last August as mentioned.