Thread: New pber! Confused about fats? page

TARA718 is offline Junior Member

New pber! Confused about fats?

Shop Now
    Hey guyss im brand new to this and i am totally confused about why and how i should eat in a 1:1 ratio of Omega6: Omega3's. If anyone could provide example of how to achieve this that would be appreciated. I would also like to know how do you guys get most of your fat intake? Is it ok to take spoonfuls of coconut oil? Thankss! btw im trying to lose weight if that changes things hehe.

yodiewan is offline Senior Member
    Basically, an excess of omega-6 in your diet will cause your body to be in a state of chronic low-level inflammation. If you want nitty-gritty details search for eicosanoids.

It's very difficult to get a 1:1 ratio of omega 6:3. A ratio of 2:1 or even 3:1 isn't too shabby. To get down to 1:1, you'd basically have to eat no nuts, no olive oil, no poultry, and very little fat from pork. You'd have to get most of your fat from ruminant animals and other low PUFA sources like coconut oil and eat fatty fish pretty often. I mean, you could just guzzle enough fish oil to "balance" whatever your omega-6 intake happens to be, but you also want to keep your total PUFA consumption pretty low.

While it's "OK" to eat spoonfuls of coconut oil, it's not really conducive to weight loss unless you are also controlling your total calories.

tfarny is offline Senior Member
    Basically if you totally avoid vegetable, soy, and corn oil and get your meats from good quality sources, and eat oily fish at least once a week, your ratio will not be bad - you don't need 1:1 exactly or any such thing. You might consider taking flaxseed or fish oil at first to get yourself to a decent ratio quickly. At the same time, I have no idea what my ratio is or was, I just follow that basic advice.