Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal Confusion...Different "Paleo" diets? page

Brit is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

Hey all,

I'm new to this and still researching different sites. I found one http://www.thepaleodiet.com/aboutus/ and it seems to be led by Loren Cordain, Ph.D. His "version" of the Paleo diet consists of LEAN meats and I think more fruit whereas this stresses lean and non-lean meats.

Sooooo... I'm confused. If you eat more lean mean (less saturated fat) you should eat more fruit vs. the PB you eat more saturated fats and less fruit?

What's goin' on here?

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

eh it's totally different ... primal isn't the same as paleo or a version of paleo. There is some overlap but in what I've read anyway it seems like paleo people are pretty scared of fat.

(Someone chime in with more info please)

I prefer primal to paleo, definitely. If I eat too much fruit it makes me hungrier and makes me crave more carbs... and if I don't eat enough fat I don't stay satisfied.

Probably 60-75% of my calories come from fat on any given day. It's awesome.

Eating lots but still hungry? Eat more fat. Mid-day sluggishness? Eat more fat. Feeling depressed or irritable? Eat more fat. People think you've developed an eating disorder? Eat more fat... in front of them.

Tarlach is offline Member

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...leo-and-Primal

PB is based upon paleo. The paleo diet is about eating what paleo man ate (ie. Grok). Mark also includes non-paleo foods in PB and allows cheating.

Cordain was wrong about lean meat. He did not create paleo eating, he just wrote a book about it.

Paleo can also be carnivorous. It's quite likely that middle/lower paleo man was mostly carnivorous and hunted for saturated animal fat.
    The "Seven Deadly Sins"

• Grains (wheat/rice/oats etc) . . . . . • Dairy (milk/yogurt/butter/cheese etc) . . . . .• Nightshades (peppers/tomato/eggplant etc)