Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal - girlarchitect page

girlarchitect is offline Senior Member

Primal Journal - girlarchitect

Primal Fuel
    Some background:

I'm a 44 yr old single female and like many of us stuck at desk jobs, I've slowly been gaining weight over the last seven (!!) years. I've been hovering at 170 for about three years now. In my mind, this weight has been a small, short term thing that I am just about to get over, but when I realized I have been at this weight with my health declining, for years I decided it was time to do something about it.
    I know I need to lose weight (more specifically body fat), about 30 pounds worth, but my goal is 2 pounds a week.

My diet has been over the years fairly good from a conventional stand point - lots of fruits and vegetables, lots of whole grain (30+ grams of fiber a day), light on meat, very little processed foods (except for potato chips which are a downfall of mine) - and I get plenty of regular exercise from walking and biking. I don't have a strong sweet tooth - no soda, no ice cream, few deserts - so that's never been a downfall for me.

But that approach was, of course, not working. So, I decided to start a primal diet one week ago. Today, I thought I should start a journal to see if a commitment the latter would help keep me on the former. We shall see if it helps.

Thoughts on my first week:

At first, I just felt hungry and heavy. In one week, I've come to recognize the hunger was more mental than physical. The heaviness was, I think, from increasing the amount of red meat in my diet which has typically been about 1lb a month. I've adjusted by replacing some of the red meat with more fish and shellfish - easy as I live only 2 blocks from the local fish market - and the heavy feeling is gone. I figure I'll probably want more fish now and more red meat in the winter - we'll see what happens!