Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Vegetable rennet in cheeses? page

  1. #1
    petriquor's Avatar
    petriquor is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    207

    Vegetable rennet in cheeses?

    Primal Fuel
    First of all I know dairy isn't strictly primal but I've done well with it.

    My question is whether cheese made with vegetable rennet is any better or worse than traditional rennet. From what I gather, it's only used to make cheese vegetarian or kosher. But I can't really find much further information on it.

  2. #2
    Lily Marie's Avatar
    Lily Marie is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    717
    Animal rennet comes from calf stomach - or so I've heard. I believe the veggie rennet is there to make it less cruel.
    I can't personally call anything that comes from an animal "Vegetarian" I think it's a crock of crap lol

  3. #3
    pjgh's Avatar
    pjgh is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Halifax, UK
    Posts
    1,194
    You can set off cheese with lemon juice. Indian paneer (or "cheese") is simply milk curdled with lemon juice. It's a religious thing, for Sikh and Hindu alike. I'm not very clued up on Kosher, but understand dairy and meat should not mix - I guess the same for Islam? Paneer is really nice - a firm cheese which can take on flavours really well. Think tofu, but actually nice

    If you're not religious, it's not an issue.

  4. #4
    davem's Avatar
    davem is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,258
    Vegetable rennet results in insipid cheese, and requires much more rennet to produce a curd. Vegetable rennet is inferior to calf rennet in every way, except for the feel goods for the PETA crowd.

    I've also had problems with cheese aging properly when using vegetable rennet. That could be due to me though.

  5. #5
    petriquor's Avatar
    petriquor is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by davem View Post
    Vegetable rennet results in insipid cheese, and requires much more rennet to produce a curd. Vegetable rennet is inferior to calf rennet in every way, except for the feel goods for the PETA crowd.

    I've also had problems with cheese aging properly when using vegetable rennet. That could be due to me though.
    Well that's good to know, but I was more wondering what the nutritional difference of rennets might be with regards to the store-bought kind, if any. I'd guess it's pretty much irrelevant but I was curious because I bought some with veg. rennet already.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •