Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here...and I feel weird... page

Brit is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

Hi everyone. I'm new to this Primal Style of eating and I must say, it's a little crazy. Being in the medical field, the food pyramid is totally flipped, but I understand the process.

Anyhow, I'm on day four. I have a weird headache and feel kind of tired. Is this all normal? This has probably been talked to a lot in previous threads, but to be honest, I'm feeling a little carb deprived and am a little short. My apologies...

When will this pass? When will I feel "good" like everyone else is saying?

Any endearing words of encouragment would be nice...lol...

Brit

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

It varies for everyone... some people have "low-Carb flu" for a couple weeks... I didn't have it at all.

If you are really feeling carb deprived and feel like you NEED some to concentrate, have an apple or some zucchini or something... just avoid the grains still.

Eating lots but still hungry? Eat more fat. Mid-day sluggishness? Eat more fat. Feeling depressed or irritable? Eat more fat. People think you've developed an eating disorder? Eat more fat... in front of them.

Acmebike is offline Member

Keep on keeping on! You'll snap around in a week. Similar "blahs" are felt with a drop in carbs, you can google up "Atkins Induction Flu" to read up some. The Primal Blueprint really doesn't call for induction level carb restriction, depending on your goals, you could be hitting 150g of carbs a day, so that certainly is not Atkins Induction levels!

But skipping grains, sugars, other quick hit processed foods, could also cause a bit of withdrawal! Keep with it, you will OWN this stuff. Have you read the book?

Welcome to the Primal world!

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member