Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nick K's Traditional Bolognese. page

Primal Nick K is offline Junior Member

Nick K's Traditional Bolognese.

Primal Fuel
    Buckle yourselves in, this is going to be a bumpy ride.

I've been making this now for about 5 years, every other week. My wife, who has Italian origins (one generation ago) started me off in what they liked and expected a bolognese sauce to be. Its a little different to real traditional Italian bolognese but it keeps the spirit. I am quite passionate about this sauce because it tastes so damn good and I have been tweaking it over the years.

The real difference between most other bolognese sauces and Italian style is that, Italian style is really long cooking (5-6 hours sometimes) on a low heat and the meat is added raw to the sauce just after it comes to a gentle boil, the heat of the sauce is what cooks the meat and it is not sealed beforehand letting the sauce flavours penetrate the meat. My way of preparing this is extremely child friendly, my kids go mad for it and as they can't see any vegetables in it it poses no problems. Since going primal, I just enjoy it chucked over mixed stir fried veggies.

So hear goes, you'll have to reduce quantities as necessary, this recipe makes about 9 litres of sauce. It does well being frozen which is why I make big batches.

You will need:

20 red ripe tomatoes (on the vine are much better)
    6 large bell peppers (mixed colours)
    3-4 large onions
    1 leek
    5-10 cloves of garlic (your preference, I use 7)
    4 litres of the best passata you can lay your hands on (not concentrate, just liquid tomatoes)
    2 tablespoons of paprika
    2 tablespoons of sea salt
    75 twists of fresh ground black pepper
    1.25 kg (2.75 lbs) of minced (that's ground I suppose for my American friends) beef or beef/veal
    Good quality olive oil
    Butter
    0-3 glasses red wine