Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OK wait. Carbs vs. Nuts and Fruit page

markoso is offline Junior Member

OK wait. Carbs vs. Nuts and Fruit

Primal Fuel
    Hi All,
    I'm a newbie here to this primal thing. But I've read Mark's book and done some research, so hope y'all don't mind a stupid question:

Mark says to eat between 50-100 grams of carbs a day for optimum "sweet spot" fat loss. Mark also encourages us to eat nuts and fruits. The word "generously" is used.

I've been tracking my carbs using LoseIt (superior to FitDay) and BY FAR the #1 source of carbs in my diet is... (drum roll)... nuts and fruit! In fact, nuts have about 1g of carbs for every 1g of protein. And a single medium apple has 25g of carbs! (Now I know why this website is "The Daily Apple" - singular.)

This strikes me as somewhat problematic. A big selling point of this diet/lifestyle is weight loss. Fat will "melt off" if you hit the sweet spot, right? Or I guess, not if you eat fruit?

And this may be a sacred cow here, but I've been on non-low(er) carb diets (40c/40p/20f) with restricted caloric intake, and lost weight too. 2 pounds a week, in fact.

So really now, is it about carb restriction, or calorie restriction?

I know I'm probably coming off as standoffish about these questions, but they seem like big contradictions. And figured with such an experienced community, someone can answer this well, with good info, and really help me "grok" it in the Heinlein sense.

Thanks in advance!!

Note 1: I've cut grains and sugars from my diet 100%. Wasn't a challenge, luckily. I cut all sugar, white bread, soda, and most processed foods awhile ago.

Note 2: I get the whole "even energy levels" thing. I've experienced it firsthand, and I love not being sleepy through my afternoons at work. So far, that's the biggest piece of evidence I've seen supporting the diet/lifestyle.

Note 3: I get the evolutionary theory behind it as well. I'm not questioning the theory, just the practice.