Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal Vegetarian page

chloemoon is offline Junior Member

Primal Vegetarian

Shop Now
    Hi, I'm pretty new to primal and am a vegetarian, although I do eat massive amounts of fish and shell fish. So, I guess that makes me a pesce-vegetarian. God, I hate labels! Anyway, I read the Paleo Diet for athletes and decided to try it, although I am not a big fan of meat. I'm a long distance runner and thought it best to change my diet a bit, since I've been focused on consuming lots of beans and grains. Even with the bloat, the gas problems and stomach issues I had when I consumed grains I still kept eating it.

Well, since I started my version of the Paleo Vegetarian diet (2months), my stomach issues have decreased and I have a lot of energy to sustain my ultra marathon training. My diet is pretty much comprised of vegetables, fruits, lots of fish and shell fish, eggs, and nuts. I stopped tofu, a huge staple in my diet that took some getting use to. I haven't been able to find much recipes for fish, so I've been free styling it.

While, I've tried to swallow a hunk of meat down, I can't get past the smell and texture. I do take my multi-vitamin. My doctor said I'm pretty much healthy, but is concerned with my calorie consumption.I wondered if it was ok, to be a Primal Vegetarian?

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    does your doctor think you are eating too few calories? throw some butter on those things. too many? remind him/her that running requires fuel.

as to the 'is it ok to be a vegetarian' question, the answer is ok. fish is great, but if you could learn to like meat it might come in handy. it's nothing you have to adapt to over night; you can start small (i believe bacon is the preferred cross-over meat) and work up to some other options, knowing that the nutrition you're getting from beef is going to be better than the nutrition you get from a multi-vitamin.