Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's up with fruit & dairy & carb counting? Newbie here. page

kallen Guest

Shop Now

This is only my second post, and I'm waiting for my book to arrive in the mail, so please forgive my ignorance if the question is addressed somewhere.

I've been reading some of the posts in the forum and there seems to be kind of backlash against fruit.... My initial impression was that the whole concept behind primal eating was "what would Grok eat?" If it grew on a tree and you could pick it, hunt it, or gather it then it was primal....

I'm browsing through the posts now and it seems like a lot forum members are following an Atkins approach to eating as opposed to primal (yes... similarities... but still different). There is high emphasis on counting carbs and eating lots of dairy like butters and cheeses, and adding processed almond flours and other things to make baked goods. Ketosis is mentioned a lot too.

I definitely don't want to sound like I'm passing jugement or saying there is a "right" or "wrong" way to do anything... but I'm completely and utterly confused. Reading what Mark said about carbohydrates (as long as NO grains, processed sugars, and legumes are consumed) one can eat as much fruit and veggies as they want and not be concerned with it as you're very unlikely to ever go over 150 carbs anyway....

Any thoughts would be awesome, and once again... I don't mean to flame anyone... but I'm just really confused. I like the idea of eating nature-intended foods. Counting carbs obsessively sounds just as awful as counting fat grams and calories...

Acmebike is offline Member