Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Parsnips & Turnips page

geostump is offline Senior Member

Parsnips & Turnips

Shop Now
    I'm making soup and I was thinking of using parsnips & turnips in it. I've never used either of those before and was wondering if the flavors of both would be ok in a soup?

Zophie is offline Senior Member
    Ya, they should be good.

I have put them both in a regular stew type soup and also made chowder with them.

Mud Flinger is offline Senior Member
    I sometimes put parnips in my chicken soup. They look like white carrots and taste kinda sweet. I like 'em. The family probably mostly puts up with it though!

breadsauce is offline Senior Member
    I use both often. Curried parsnip soup is divine (if you like curry flavours....). And turnip, parsnip, with carrot make a really good root veg soup. If it tastes too sweet for you - add the juice of a lemon.

pjgh is offline Senior Member
    Parsnips can have a kind of woody/early flavour, not dissimilar to celeriac but more on the front of the tongue. Turnips are quite bland. I'd go for larger pieces of turnip and smaller (1cm square) pieces of parsnip in a stew/soup. Parsnip chips are nice ... fry 'em in dripping.

Chuck 'em in and see how you like them. You'll get the hang of it.

peril is offline Senior Member
    Parsnips are a standard soup-mix vegetable here
    Four years Primal with influences from Jaminet & Shanahan and a focus on being anti-inflammatory. Using Primal to treat CVD and prevent stents from blocking free of drugs.

Eat creatures nose-to-tail (animal, fowl, fish, crustacea, molluscs), a large variety of vegetables (raw, cooked and fermented, including safe starches), dairy (cheese & yoghurt), occasional fruit, cocoa, turmeric & red wine

Paleobird Guest
    Both veggies hold up well to long hours in the slow cooker.

canio6 is offline Senior Member