Thread: Poached eggs in tomato and coconut milk curry page

Thespianpythia is offline Junior Member

Poached eggs in tomato and coconut milk curry

Primal Fuel
    My boyfriend and I have been living Primally for about a month now, with great satisfaction, but this is my first time posting on the forums. He made this dish for breakfast this morning, and it was so good (and cheap, and easy) that I had to share it. It's a surprisingly rich dish, and will set you up for a long day, or can be eaten for lunch or dinner if you're not much of a "spicy things in the morning" person. This particular curry is a Sri Lankan recipe, and is adapted from a recipe in Rick Stein's Far Eastern Odyssey cookbook.

Poached eggs in tomato and coconut milk curry (serves 4)

8 medium eggs
    2 tbsp coconut oil or ghee
    1 tsp cumin seeds
    1/4 tsp yellow mustard seeds
    1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds
    1 small onion, finely chopped
    2 green cayenne chillis, finely chopped
    1 tsp powdered turmeric
    1 tsp ground cinnamon
    1 tsp kashmiri chilli powder*
    1 tsp Sri Lankan curry powder** or garam masala
    400g chopped tomatoes, fresh or from a tin
    200ml coconut milk
    2 tbsp almond meal (optional)

Heat the oil/ghee in a medium sized pan (at least 20cm diameter). Add the cumin, mustard seeds and fenugreek seeds and leave them to sizzle for a few seconds, then add the onion and fry over medium heat for a few mintues, until soft and just beginning to brown.

Add the green chilli, turmeric, chilli powder and tomatoes, and cook briefly until the tomatoes just begin to soften, then stir in the coconut milk (and almond meal, if using) and bring to a simmer. Simmer for several minutes until the sauce has reduced and thickened somewhat. Season to taste with salt.