Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ketchup and Mustard not primal? page

ELDuran is offline Member

Ketchup and Mustard not primal?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I was reading through some threads around here and some people wanted recipes for primal ketchup and mustard. WTF? I have been using them thinking they were primal.

Someone said some mustards have brown sugar in the ingredients. However, I checked mine, the label doesn't say anything about brown sugar. I use this one:

http://img4.realsimple.com/images/fo...ustard_300.jpg

Is this one OK? I can do without ketchup but not mustard. Thanks again!

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Commercial ketchup usually has sugar. I have a tablespoon once in a while without worrying. Could mix tomato paste, a bit of vinegar and stevia if you wanted. Ketchup is not Paleo because of the tomato.

For mustard, just look at the ingredients, as you have done.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

secretlobster is offline Senior Member
    Ketchup isn't because of the sugar content, mustard is. Mustard is usually just mustard seed and vinegar. I do not avoid "normal" mustard at all.

gunnk is offline Senior Member
    Unless you eat a LOT of ketchup and mustard, I wouldn't sweat it. I know I *never* chow down on a big bowl of ketchup soup, do you?