Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Noob question about diet and fitness balance page

Neiby is offline Junior Member

Noob question about diet and fitness balance

I'm very new to the Primal diet. I've was doing Atkins for a month and had lost 12 pounds. Now I've discovered Primal diet and fitness and I'm really enjoying what I've found! I've read quite a bit here, and I've also bought the Primal Blueprint but haven't got to read it yet. I have a quick question about caloric intake on this diet.

I'm trying to figure out what a good caloric intake is for me. I'm 5'10" and 224. I'd like to be 180 or maybe 175. I seem to have plateau'd at 224. I've been exercising a lot more recently, something that is difficult because I've been so sedentary for so long. I'm walking a lot, cycling, and now I've just started doing Primal fitness. The problem is I don't know how much I should be eating now that my body is mostly used to being on a low carb diet.

As an example, here is what I've eaten today:

Breakfast: handful of almonds and an Atkins shake (low carb, 10g fat, 16g of protein, or something like that)

Lunch: hamburger patty with cheese and bacon, small salad (lettuce, onions, bell peppers, cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, egg, turkey, sunflower seeds)

Dinner: A couple of handfuls of almonds while making dinner, a small bag of veggies (yellow, red and green peppers), small piece of chicken with a bit of cheese and green chile sauce.

Today, I probably walked over a mile at work. I went on a 13-mile bike ride after getting home and then I did the Primal workout. I'm not in good shape at all, so I can only do knee pushups, assisted pullups, and so on. Given that level of activity, have I eaten enough to get plenty of nutrients to my muscles (and the rest of my body) while still burning fat?

Sorry for the lengthy post! I will continue to read this wonderful forum for more tips and guidance.

Thanks,
    John

DFH
    DFH is offline Senior Member