Thread: Making a comeback page

shelleyseattle is offline Junior Member

Making a comeback

Shop Now
    I'm super excited to find this forum as I've been looking for a way to hold myself accountable to eating well. Here's a little bit about where I'm starting from.

I'm a 32 year old graduate student. I'm 5'4'' and about 137lbs, which isn't too far from where I'd like to be, but many of my clothes don't fit well and I'd generally like to be leaner and stronger. Last year I did a modified paleo diet for about 4 months with my husband and I loved it. I was interested in it primarily because I generally believe in eating well, but I very commonly succumb to eating m+m's in addition to my kale. I wanted to find a way to help myself refrain from eating processed foods--those things that push me past feeling full on a regular basis. I'd like to work on being more aware of how full I feel and stopping before I eat more than I need to (something I do on a regular basis).

This year I am recovering from a running injury and am on the mend from a PRP shot in my high hamstring last week. No exercise for a week and then gradual pick up, so I'd like to focus on what i can control, my diet, and working back up to bike commuting and hopefully a sprint triathlon in the fall.

When I did the paleo diet before, my husband and I went about 90%, eating dairy and the occasional treat. I find that this is a good balance for me. It would be interesting to try going dairy free for a week, but I haven't worked up to that yet.

Day 1:
    Weight: 137
    B: Brown cow maple yogurt (there is one more left in the fridge, I can't let it go to waste!)
    L: leftover cauliflower gratin (cauliflower, a little gruyere, and a little bread crumbs)
    snack: dried cranberries/cashews, string cheese
    D: almond meal pancakes with a little maple syrup, red wine

WOD: none (tomorrow I'll meet a trainer for an upper body workout)