Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Little Confused About Fat Burning page

PumpkinHead is offline Junior Member

A Little Confused About Fat Burning

Shop Now
    Hi all,

I am new to PB eating. I'm 25/F, 5'5, 110lbs. My goal is not to lose weight - I actually want to gain weight, but in a healthy way. Though my arms & legs are kind of scary skinny, I still have a lot of belly fat (the kind b/w my muscle & skin), so my goal is to "distribute" my weight from fat to muscle, if possible. And generally I have weird digestive issues (bloating to the point of distended belly, IBS) and some other health concerns like hair loss that I'm hoping may see improvement on a lifestyle diet like this.

Anyway, I'm a little confused about how my body is going to learn to burn off fat without going totally low carb since I really really don't want to lose more weight. According to PB I should be consuming 100-150g of carbs per day in order to maintain weight. If I stick to this, will my body ever learn to burn fat for energy instead of carbs, or do I have to go seriously low carb (ketosis?) for it to start burning fat, and then add carbs in?

I guess I'm just concerned about losing more weight - I don't think it would be healthy. But I'd like to transition to my body using fat for fuel instead of carbs. Will this still happen?

Thanks for any info you can provide

IcarianVX is offline Senior Member
    Your body already knows how to burn fat, it just needs you to adjust your eating patterns to allow it. A lot of fat in the places we don't want it (as opposed to "evenly distributed") is due more to hormone fluctuations rather than calories in/calories out and the amount of exercise that you do.