Thread: Move slowly how frequently? page

Wolverine155 is offline Junior Member

Shop Now

Hello all,

Im relatively new to living Primal and have a few questions about working out. I already workout out with free weights three times per week utilizing full body workouts, should I drop isolation exercises, eg. curls, pushdowns, calf raises etc and make my workouts more abbreviated only doing pushups, pullups, squats, deadlifts and their variants? Also, after my weight training should I do a nice slow bike ride for 30 to 45 minutes or should i do some form of interval sprinting for 10-15 minutes? I typically lift mondays, wednesdays and fridays and go for long slow jog/walks keeping my heart rate between 120 to 139 bpms for approximately 45 to 60 minutes.. Sundays are play days or whatever i feel like. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Oh, please dont recommend crossfit.com to me. I was big into that site before it became popular with the SF and SWAT crowd (to which I belong, SWAT anyway) and I hurt my back really bad, several times!

tman Guest

Wolverine155-Dropping the isolation stuff is a pretty good idea I think. Regular free weight compound moves give all muscles a great workout in my opinion. Squats, presses, rows, pull-ups, deadlifts, etc. are great and functional exercises. I'm not sure the current functional training fad ads more to the average person's life (with the exception of a few exercises) beyond injury rehab. Unstable training (bosu stuff) is definitely a waist of time beyond including it for varieties sake.