Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: primal on a budget? (or, frustrated grad student in danger of relapsing...) page

anne.s. is offline Junior Member

primal on a budget? (or, frustrated grad student in danger of relapsing...)

Hey all, thanks in advance for the help!

In the last two months I've become more aware of the primal lifestyle, and have begun to give it a try. However, I'm close to quitting out of sheer frustration. I'm a graduate student, and on my very small living stipend I spend $20/week on groceries (this is non-negotiable- there is no room in other parts of my budget for shifting things around- I don't have a smart phone or other pretty electronics, I don't have a car, I absolutely never eat out, etc). This worked fine before I made the switch to primal, since I cooked all my meals from scratch. I ate mostly oatmeal, potatoes, rice, beans, whole-grain pasta, with eggs/chicken for protein and lots of whatever fruits/veggies were on sale (mostly cabbage, broccoli, apples and bananas). After seeing a nutritionist at my school and realizing I didn't have enough protein in my diet, I also added a fair amount of tofu, cottage cheese, and even more eggs.

However, on a primal diet, most of the cheap (yet still healthy, or so I used to think) fillers like oatmeal and potatoes are off limits, and I'm really struggling to figure out how to fill the gap without going over budget. At most, I could probably stretch to $25/wk. I can't afford red meat or fish, and I really miss bread/baking but can't afford the ingredients (almond meal, coconut flour, etc) for primal alternatives.