Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone else from Raleigh, NC? page

Daria is offline Member

Anyone else from Raleigh, NC?

Hi all,
    So I'm new to the primal lifestyle and have only been eating this way for a month. I'm still getting used to planning out all my meals and shopping in advance. It is difficult for me to always have a lunch packed to take to work.

I was wondering if there are others who live in Raleigh North Carolina here. Perhaps we can use this thread to share tips on where to shop and eat. I have to eat gluten free since it causes great problems for me.

Just as a reference point I work near the Crabtree Mall but I live in Apex. Right now I'm going to Whole Foods a lot for lunch since they label all their ingredients on the buffets. Also Chipotle but the only thing we can eat there are the salads and it can get too repetitive.
    Another place I've found is Roly Poly, which is a mostly a sandwich place but they have a few different salads.
    I know about Harmony Cafe on Creedmoor which specializes in GF foods, but I find they are a bit expensive for a small portion.

Anyone have more restaurant ideas? How about places you found outside of grocery stores to buy good meat?

mikewootini is offline Senior Member
    Hey there Daria,

I might be worthwhile for you to make a weekly trip to Carrboro/Chapel Hill or Durham. Wednesday and Sat morning are Farmer's Market days, Sat is in Durham. All local foods, locally grown. The one in Raleigh is a little more uncertain to me, but does have some good stuff.

For fish, I'd check out Tom Robinson's Seafood in Carrboro - it's all local catches from the coast. They bring the catches in on Thursday.
    You could also check Cliff's meat market in Carrboro, it's a locally owned butcher and they have some interesting cuts like 'elk' sometimes.