Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Losing weight when I don't want to page

Joe B is offline Member

Losing weight when I don't want to

Primal Fuel
    I eat Paleo/Primal (whatever you want to call it) and slowly but surely keep losing weight when I don't want to. I'm 5'10 and was 150lbs at the end of February but just weighed in at 139.5lbs this morning; I did not want to lose weight at all. I've been eating Paleo for four years now but have been having weight issues for the last two years, with weight loses of 20-25lbs happening twice in that time period. Needless to say I don't want this to happen again, though it is in the process now. I have been trying to correct adrenal fatigue since Mid-March, and once I am over it I want to go on a linear progression strength program and get up to 165lbs or so, 150 is too skinny for me. I started Crossfit in July 2007 but have done Crossfit Football, SS, and 70s big LP in between then.

Now that the background info is out of the way, time for the question: I clearly have a lack of appetite problem, how do people maintain weight without weighing and measuring when faced with this problem? I've been WAMing for awhile now and I'm kind of burned out doing it and just want to eat whatever good food I want, and in the portion size that I want to. However, it has not worked in the past since when I lost that substantial amount of weight twice I was not WAMing, just eating when hungry. How can I maintain without WAMing? I really don't want to use a scale anymore, but I feel like I have to in order to force myself to eat enough to not lose weight. So what do I do, weigh myself every couple of days to see if I'm eating enough? Is this a thyroid issue? I recently started taking NOW superfoods digestive enzymes to help, and I also supplement with Vit D, fish oil (2.5g/day), and magnesium glycinate pills. Any help is appreciated, I'm at a loss as to what to do.

DaisyEater is offline Senior Member