Thread: Homegrown chicken n eggs page

Roboff is offline Junior Member

Homegrown chicken n eggs

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I was wondering if anyone had some advice for me regarding raising our own chickens. I have noticed that omega3 enriched eggs are preferred. Is there a certain feed I should be giving our six chickens to get the optimal egg out of them or is the grain feed from the tack n feed store good enough? Thanks!

otzi Guest
    I have been raising a small flock of chickens for 6 or 7 years now. When I fed them straight layer mix from the feed store, the eggs were just like store bought. I noticed when I'd feed them garden scraps and bugs, the yolks were darker yellow and thicker. If you can free range them that's best, but a 'chicken tractor' is good, too, if you have a pretty good size yard without any pesticide in it. If you are stuck with keeping them in a coop, give them lots of fresh grass, greens, and as many insects as you can--some people raise mealworms just for chicken food.

In the winter, I give them free choice layer mix, scratch, oyster shell, and a half head of leaf lettuce every day (for 5 chickens). If you give them straight layer mix, they will lay eggs like crazy for 2 years then quit for a while, if they start back up it's like an egg a week. Feeding them less layer mix will keep them laying for 5 or 6 years, but you'll get 3-4 eggs a week vs 6-7.

lucyh is offline Senior Member