Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Having trouble letting go of CW page

FFRNChad is offline Junior Member

Having trouble letting go of CW

Primal Fuel
    So I have been following the Primal lifestyle for over a year now. Diet is pretty well dialed in, I actively CrossFit 3-4 days a week, my stress management is good, life is pretty well in hand. My issue is this: I had my bloodwork done a couple of weeks ago and my cholesterol came back sky high. My total and LDL's are through the roof, HDL's are great (65). Triglycerides are fine, Blood glucose is fine, and I didn't have the test that identifies whether my LDL particles are small or large. I am aware of the research out there that points to high cholesterol possibly being cardio-protective. However, I am a nurse and CW, all my training, and all the people I currently work with, points to me dying in a matter of years from clogged arteries and an oxygen starved heart! I guess I just need some reassurance that I am doing the right thing. I look forward to all your help! Thanks in advance.

PatrickF is offline Senior Member
    According to CW the most important measure is the total to HDL ratio:
    Blood cholesterol and vascular mortality by age, s... [Lancet. 2007] - PubMed result (the ratio total/HDL cholesterol was the strongest predictor of IHD mortality)

So even if you believe in CW you are probably fine with a HDL of 65 unless you total is way high.

My total to HDL ratio was also fine. I am just a little freaked out about my Total Cholesterol number. Oh, and I don't necessarily believe in CW, but it has been dogma for so long, I guess I am having a little trouble letting it go...

piano-doctor-lady is offline Senior Member
    So, what is this sky-high total cholesterol number?