Thread: Mold - but not nutrition related... page

lorichka6 is online now Senior Member

Mold - but not nutrition related...

Primal Fuel
    Due to the #s this forum gets and all the great stuff you guys know I figured it was worth a shot to post this here...

A few weeks ago I noticed that some of my house plants had white mold (?) growing on the soil. I live in UPSNY where it has not stopped raining in a few weeks and I can't remember if the mold preceded the rain - I think it did.

I also have been drying used coffee grounds (to use in my garden) in a big tupperware on the counter. Now that has the same white mold growing on it.

I've had these house plants for years and never noticed the mold before and am surprised to see mold growing on coffee grounds. But I'm not a mold expert, so maybe that isn't abnormal?

Anyone out there in interweb-land have an opinion like "worry about this" or "its normal".

Sorry for the off topic post - just looking for some ideas and I know a lot of you probably know a great deal about these kinds of things! Thanks

Balance is offline Senior Member
    I don't think its abnormal and you are right that it is probably because of all the precipitation. It is normal for all living things to grow a little mold on them and white mold isn't too bad. The mold you have to worry about in your house is black mold or Stachybotrys which can cause allergies and major upper respiratory problems. But stachybotrys normally grows in places where there may be a water leak that hasn't been addressed in a long time. It normally grows on the walls or behind the walls or in your flooring.
    "If man made it, don't eat it" - Jack Lallane

People say I am on a "crazy" diet. What is so crazy about eating veggies, fruits, seafood and organ meats? Just because I don't eat whole wheat and processed food doesn't make my diet "crazy". Maybe everyone else with a SAD are the "crazy" ones for putting that junk in their system.

Twibble is offline Senior Member