Thread: Primal wannabe starting to get my feet wet page

abbyful is offline Member

Primal wannabe starting to get my feet wet

Hi everyone! I just wanted to introduce myself. I posted on the "introduce yourself" thread, but I figured I'd post a more personal introduction too.

My name is Abby, I live in Kansas City with my fiance (will be husband on June 7th 2011!) and 3 dogs. I work as a web developer at a hospital. I was born & raised in rural Kansas, grew up on a farm, moved to the "big city" after college.

My hobbies include my dogs, one of which I show at AKC shows; cooking; wine; ethnic cuisine (love Ethiopian, hands-down my all-time favorite cuisine, although not primal); and more recently added is learning more about nutrition and health.

About a year and a half ago, wondering how I could "eat better". I was eating all the stuff I thought was healthy but I didn't really feel healthy: low fat, lots of whole-grain, basically trying to follow the food pyramid. It just didn't really seem right, so I started doing some research and came across books by Michael Pollan and Nina Planck. I've since then ditched pretty much all processed junk and became an obsessive label-reader: no HFCS, no hydrogenated oil, no soy, no chemical preservatives, etc. So I'm currently on what I refer to as a "real food" diet. In a way I feel kind of stupid because it seems like it should be common sense to try to eat only "real food" and not "food-like substances", but I had been brainwashed by the food pyramid and government recommendations.

Then a few months ago I came across a blog on the Paleo diet, this has peaked my interest even more. I'm not a bread lover, so cutting back on bread has been pretty easy; but I don't know if I can give up cheese, I love cheese.

I haven't jumped in with both feet, but I have been trying to cut back on carbs more and my current goal is 1/3 of my meals to be Primal/Paleo, I plan to keep increasing that.