Thread: Happy newbie primal gal in the Middle East page

FrannyPro is offline Junior Member

Happy newbie primal gal in the Middle East

Shop Now
    I'm a super newbie to primal eating (I think today is day 34?), and simply put, I have Never. Felt. Better.

I'd stumbled across Mark's Daily Apple about two months ago, and I quickly found myself down the rabbit hole of reading post after post after post. After about 1 1/2 weeks of bringing up primal-this or Mark's Daily Apple-that to my husband, he was like, "Well, I'm willing to give it a go" (I think he was one-part curious himself, and one-part relieved that I wasn't heading back down my vegan path of yore). I'll admit: I ate a big sundae from Baskin Robbins to bid adieu to SAD for a while.

But since that day, I really haven't looked back as I embrace primal eating/fitness. I've been an athlete my entire life (I was playing soccer and baseball as a five-year-old). I've run tons of half marathons, marathons (including Boston), and one ultra. Like a lot of runners, I'm also a complete sugar/carb-holic. I always felt like I could eat whatever I wanted--so long as I went out for a 6-mile run the next day. But my relationship to food was never healthy, and as I look forward to my 30th birthday this year, I could tell eating cookies, brownies, ice cream, etc., nearly every day was catching up to me (read: Buddha belly).

In just 30+ days of primal eating (and cutting back on my long runs, adding in more HITT and strength training), any excess fat I had has melted off. I enjoy the food I'm eating so much more than SAD (eggs? bacon? lamb? avocado? yes please!), and my fitness routine is more varied and enjoyable. I've totally drunk the proverbial Kool Aid, and I couldn't be happier.

Digby is offline Senior Member
    Welcome! Glad to see you and your spouse have found PB, and are enjoying the benefits.
    This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it. Ralph Waldo Emerson