Thread: Intro Shannon from Austin page

huntersmoon is offline Junior Member

Intro Shannon from Austin

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I've been reading the newsletter and browsing the forum for a while now and follow a fairly primal lifestyle. I am in Austin TX and mom to four kids who homeschool. We are all life learners, out in nature and following our interests. We do not replicate school at home and I am a facilitator/mentor rather than teacher. We eat local organic foods; Austin has some amazing local urban farms in addition to its great farmers' markets and we know our farmers personally.

I also homestead - we just moved back to Austin after some years in California and while in California I had a few acres and a bounty of orchards and gardens. I had about 1000 square feet of organic raised bed gardens, more than 100 strawberry plants, a few dozen artichokes, some asparagus. Then of course just about every fruit tree one could imagine, the obligatory California citrus and avocado and then everything from macadamia to guava. Leaving the gardens was the most difficult part of moving, but we will be buying acreage here and resuming our homesteading. We are renting on Lake Travis right now while house hunting, and are enjoying being able to walk down our back steps and onto the dock to boat, swim, fish, etc.

I just completed a 90 hour permaculture design course here and find that sustainability meshes perfectly with a primal lifestyle.

I'm a lifelong athlete, having danced for 10 years, competed in various school sports, rowing competitively throughout college and having ridden horses since I was two.