Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Selenium page

naiadknight is online now Senior Member

Selenium

I have to take a selenium supplement + the selenium in my multvitamin (bringing me up to right at the max dose) in order to curb the cravings for selenium rich foods. If I take the selenium pill, I do fine and can actually want to eat a variety of foods. If I forget my selenium pill, the only thing I want to eat is seafood, nuts, and eggs. I've been doing this for at least 6 months and I've seen no change in cravings on days I forget my selenium pill. I am hypothyroid (Hashimoto's thyroiditis on levothyroxine and granulated raw pig thyroid, bloodwork is where it should be and I feel "normal") and have a fairly cerebral job (civil engineer.)
    Given all this, is it just that my body uses that much selenium on a day to day basis or is there something else at work here?
    "No fate but what we make"- Sarah Connor, Terminator 2
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, steak in one hand, chocolate in the other, yelling "Holy F***, What a Ride!"
    My Primal Battle Tome

Horsewoman is offline Senior Member
    Hmm that's interesting. I used to get bouts of cravings for eggs, but that hasn't happened for a while, and I started taking Se. Can't cast any light on it though sorry!
    Gluten intolerance and hypermobility syndrome http://www.cfids.org/pdf/joint-hypermobility-guide.pdf

Eat food. Mostly real. Enjoy life.

Health, energy, wellbeing, vitality, joy, LIFE! Health At Every Size

"Do not ask what the world needs; ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive."
    Harold Whitman

Jen AlcesAlces is offline Senior Member