Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to react to the negative feedback page

PrimalJenn is offline Member

How to react to the negative feedback

Primal Fuel
    Hey everyone!
    I'm a newbie here. I just got Mark's book and I am not even done reading it and am already hooked on the lifestyle. I have been doing paleo for about a week now, more so the 80/20 aspect of it. I feel great, more energy and everything. The problem is that for the past few years I have been one of those that jumped on every diet bandwagon. I am not terribly overweight, about 50lbs from where I was/should be. I do have a health issues that have really made me want to change my ways. At my worst I was clocking in at 250lbs and was diagnosed with sleep apnea, pre diabetes, fatty liver, high blood pressure...the works. So I changed up some things and dropped 45lbs. along with the sleep apnea and pre diabetes. Now I have been hovering around the same lbs. (up and down) for the last year and a half. I have tried everything to jump start my weight loss again...gym, extreme cardio, cabbage soup, cleanses, everything. Now I find myself more in tune with my body and wanting to correct how I feel rather than look. I still have a little bit of high blood pressure which I am on prescribed meds for (lowest dose) and I had a little bit of high cholesterol which I was told to take fish oil for and we will re-test later. Now I am finally loving a plan that I can do for the rest of my life and its hard to have everyone around me say that this is just another fad of mine or its going to make me sicker and everything else. I said that I would keep to myself and let the results speak for themselves, which I am doing for the most part but people don't like hearing "no" when offered cake or potato chips. It's frustrating and at times does make me second guess things bc I am so used to the mainstream saying whole grain diets are what you need. I guess I am just wondering what other newbies say to those that criti