Thread: Primal Journal - Cletc page

Cletc is offline Member

aa aa

Shop Now
    aa
    Last edited by Cletc; 04-08-2013 at 09:44 PM.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Welcome. At 131, it should be fine to start slowly. Main things: ditch sugar, ditch wheat (rye, barley,oats, corn meal), cut back on processed foods, get plenty of vitamin D (either sunlight or supplement.)
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

belinda is offline Senior Member
    Here's the simplest of meal plans:

Breakfast: 2-3 eggs, 2-4 slices of bacon
    Lunch: large salad with mixed greens (no iceberg lettuce!), other non-starchy vegetables, 1/2 avocado, 4-6 oz of protein (fish, beef, pork, chicken, etc.), olive oil/vinegar dressing
    Dinner: dinner plate with 1/2 holding steamed non-starchy vegetables like asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, dark leafy greens - either cooked in healthy fat or dressed with healthy fat (butter, ghee, coconut oil, olive oil), 1/4 to 1/2 plate holding protein (see lunch selections). If you need a starchy vegetable it should fill less than 1/4 of the plate (small white potato, small sweet potato, small helping white rice).

Try not to snack, but if you do, keep it primal: SMALL handful of nuts, a couple of pieces of dark chocolate (72% or higher), berries (fresh or frozen, less than 1 cup), half an apple with a tablespoon of almond butter.

This meal plan doesn't include dairy (other than butter), but if you want to eat some dairy, think 35% cream, hard cheese, full-fat yogurt, full-fat cottage cheese. Nothing skimmed or low fat!