Thread: Slow, fat she-grok cycles 47 miles page

me jane is offline Senior Member

Slow, fat she-grok cycles 47 miles

Primal Fuel
    Note: I'm not a newbie to cycling. I'm just slow and fat.

DH and I rode 8.5 miles to the starting point, then did 30 miles with the cycling club D group (second slowest pace, but between 12-15mpg). You might not associate BIG ASS HILLS with north central Indiana, but believe me, my friend, they exist. The first incredibly steep hill I didn't downshift soon enough, so I had to pull over mid-hill, but at least I didn't pop my chain & tip over like another rider.

After that, I made it up EVERY hill, even when some other skinny folks had to walk. I just focus on going as slowly as I need in the lowest gear I need, and I couldn't care less if I'm always last one up the hill. Another guy I know just hit an apparent blood sugar low and was struggling the last leg of the ride. Seeing that really made me appreciate the PB approach.

Pre-ride I ate a big plate of scrambled eggs w/cheese, salsa, and 20 g black beans. As a diabetic, I've had good experiences with beans keeping my blood sugars level on long rides. During the ride I ate 20 g of homemade trail mix (almonds, walnuts, raisins, choco chips, 110 g total)--took in just in case, but didn't really need it. Afterward with the club I ate a six-inch Subway turkey sub, but pitched half the bun, and caved and ate a bag of yummy Doritos!

Then we rode 8.5 miles home, the last five of which were in the rain.

I MUST SAY: I've never felt this good after a long ride. I'm not on the verge of collapse or anything (altho I have plans to get nekkid & meet DH in the bed after he gets out of the shower). Muscles feel pretty good, too! And I wasn't RAVENOUS when we got to the lunch spot. I was glad to eat, but I didn't feel the need to INHALE food, as I have in the past.

DH isn't doing PB, but he seemed quite impressed with my performance today!

TigerLily is offline Senior Member