Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is Primal for everyone? page

Gloworm is offline Member

Is Primal for everyone?

Primal Fuel
    Aloha! I'm new to Primal and already know I'm a lifetime member! I'm posting to share all the goodness that's been happening in the short time I've been primal but I'm also wondering if Primal is for everyone? I've been reading this forum (in a kind of crazily obsessed way) and it seems like some people really struggle with it (cravings, "falling off the wagon", etc). For me the difference was night and day in a short time period so there's no going back. Anyhoo, here's what happened to me.

I came upon MDA, through Zen Habits, who recommended MDA if you were stuggling with that last eight pounds. I used to work in the circus and have always maintained a good level of fitness. I'm 43 and have been 138lbs with around 17% body fat for like, ever. I work out a lot and Mark's "functional fitness" appealed to me. I don't work out unless it makes my one-arm hand stand better. Though my handstand are great (used to be a trapeze artist), I have a herniated disk as well as pretty bad arthritis in my hips and lower back (yeah, thanks contortion). It kind of bummed me out that I can't do what I used to, but hell, I'm 43. Do I really need my splits?

I jumped into Primal mostly because for a day and half, I'd managed to accidentally avoid grains with a big ass salad. So I figured I had a running head start. I've given little to no credit to low-carb diets mostly I think, because I've seen whack-jobs who bastardize the whole process. You know, the Atkins guy who sits and eats 5 prime rib slices, no veggies and claims the orange garnish on his plate is making him gain weight. But Mark made sense. For some reason it sunk in. Not low-carb but THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF CARBS. So I jumped in.

By Day 3: My skin was incredible! This puffiness around my eyes that I thought was genes...gone.