Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cholesterol is not bad...right?? page

Cholesterol is not bad...right??

Shop Now
    I am a 31 yo male. 6'1" 185 lbs. Roughly 10-11% BF. Overall good health. I started Primal for Lent, so I have been eating this way for ~3 months. My lipid numbers from this week..... Total cholesterol 269. LDL 204. HDL 52. VLDL 13. Triglycerides 60. The last test I had was in 2005 and my total cholesterol was 175. My next step is to get a VAP test and see what type of LDL I have. Should I be concerned about such a jump in cholesterol?

ciep is offline Senior Member
    How much has your diet changed since going primal? Have you been eating a lot more fat than usual? What about sugar/carb consumption, what's going on with that? All of those factors will play into your lipid profile.

Don't concern yourself too much with the jump in total cholesterol. A measure of 269 for total isn't necessarily a bad thing at all.

You might want to work on your ratios a bit though:

Your TotalC/HDL and your LDL/HDL ratios are both near the upper limits for what's considered healthy (going by Griff's cholesterol primer). Either raising HDL, lowering LDL, or doing both would make those ratios a bit more ideal.

Still, I feel like you need to get your VAP results to have a clear picture and really decide what to do. The numbers will be more accurate, and you'll know your pattern of LDL. Will you be getting the VAP test soon?