Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whole chicken in crockpot for bone broth question page

healthy11 is offline Senior Member

Whole chicken in crockpot for bone broth question

Hello...

I have a whole chicken in my crockpot for bone broth... how long should I cook it before I remove the meat and put the carcass back in??

Thanks for your help... this is my first attempt at this!

TigerLily is offline Senior Member
    I do it until the meat easily falls from the bone.

I just made a chicken like this last week. I pressed down upon it with the blunt edge of a bamboo spatula, and it completely fell apart.

Not sure of the time. Roughly 3-4 hours (?) on high.
    "Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food." -- Hippocrates

Okay... thank you! You always have the answers, Tigerlily

brahnamin is offline Senior Member
    Just to offer an alternative method, I prefer to start my chicken on the stove. Put the chicken in a stock pot (or any pot that will fit it, really), and cover with water. Turn your burner on high and go brush your teeth or something til it comes to a boil. Turn the heat down to medium and let it simmer for one hour (and that's why I start with the stove, because it generally takes a bit longer to get the chicken done in the crock pot).

Take your chicken out of the pot - I use roast forks, but you can slip a sharpening steel or a long butcher's knife through the cavity and lift it out that way (if you cook it much longer than an hour prepare to fish chicken parts out of the pot rather than the whole chicken), and put the chicken on a grooved cutting board or platter or even a large dinner plate.

At this point I usually take my big butcher knife and cut the carcass in half lengthwise so it will cool faster.