Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sugar Addict- Trying to Control Carb Cravings page

SugarBaby is offline Senior Member

Sugar Addict- Trying to Control Carb Cravings

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I'm new to MDA after lurking a while; read the book, got the cookbook, after reading Good Calories, Bad Calories. I'm a sugar addict, have been my whole life. My mom, like lots of mom, even gave me sugar water in a bottle as a baby, so that set me off for a life of sugar and carb cravings. Now I eat very low carbs, grass fed meat when I can, and sugar is Enemy #1. I follow a pretty high fat diet, on the lines of the Kasniewski Optimal Diet, but not using any grain-based foods. Even after nearly a year on low carb, I still struggle with carb cravings if I eat even a little too much fruit or starchy vegetables. I knew this junkie at college who said if he had the veins for it, he would shoot H all day long; I feel the same way about carbs. He died shooting up (a med-student no less!), but I don't want to die from modern diseases of SAD like lots of my family have the last 2-3 generations.
    So, can you share with me if you found it took a long time to get past sugar/carb-cravings, too?

Digby is offline Senior Member
    Hi and welcome! I have to watch carbs of all kinds, and don't know if it will ever be the case I don't; but, regardless, it is a better way to go as you have acknowledged. I know that things that used to not taste sweet, like lettuce, do to me now. Practice no doubt does make it get easier.
    This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Any given day you are surrounded by 10,000 idiots.
    Lao Tsu, founder of Taoism

Wenona1975 is offline Member
    I heard on one of Sean Croxton's shows that getting over sugar cravings can take up to about 5 years.