Thread: n00b question re: LHT page

Jello Butt is offline Junior Member

n00b question re: LHT

Shop Now
    So, I'm doing the Primal Fitness body weight regimen. I'm fairly new to the LHT thing so I have what is likely a stoopid question - how many sets of exercises, push-ups as an example, can I spread throughout the course of the day? I can do about 30 consecutive push-ups, then need a break. So, what if I do something like two sets of thirty in the morning, a single set of thirty around lunch, then two more sets of thirty in the evening? Are there any issues around efficiency, effectiveness, injury-risk, etc. doing it this way? I know to take a day off in between for recovery purposes, but not sure about what is good or bad during the course of the exercise day.

Mahalo.

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    If you read the pdf, you will see a progression for the pushups. You only need to do 2 sets. Only 2 x/week.

Once you get up to 50 regular pushups in one set, you can advance to decline pushups.

Quantity isn't as important as intensity.

Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
    If you read the pdf, you will see a progression for the pushups. You only need to do 2 sets. Only 2 x/week.

Once you get up to 50 regular pushups in one set, you can advance to decline pushups.

Quantity isn't as important as intensity.
    Yeah...however, I'm struggling to get more than 30 in one set which is far short of the 50 that PBF recommends. I'm hoping that if I can do more over the course of the day, I will be able to get up to 50 and move up in progression. Make sense? Maybe not?

peril is offline Senior Member
    Dragonfly is right. You have to push hard to drive up the reps in each set. Basically 2x30min LHT sets is all you should do, but you should work hard in each set. Its OK to take a few seconds rest so the each movement set doesn't have to be uninterrupted. I wouldn't get to 50 without a pause or two at the moment