Thread: calorie needs page

Truman123 is offline Junior Member

Well, I've been eating mostly primal for about 1 1/2 months now, but it seems that I'm having trouble really leaning out (I want to be lean like Mark!). I'm about 5'5", 115 lbs. and certainly don't consider myself overweight, but like all women, I have my trouble zones. My workouts consist of kettlebell training, sprints, and heavy lifting (sandbags) 5-6 days/week (switch it up depending on what I'm in the mood for). I'm just wondering what my calorie needs really are (much of the research I've done points to around 1900 cals/day?)...I continue to feel hungry after dinner, so I munch on nuts afterward until I feel satisfied. Am I not getting enough to eat during the day? What should a typical day of eating look like for a women my size and activity level who wants to lean down without losing her hard-earned muscle?

rphlslv is offline Senior Member

How much carbs are you eating? I think that's where the answer is.

¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º> ¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><(( ((º>
    ><((((º> ¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><(( ((º>

Sue
    Sue is offline Senior Member

So what do you eat in a typical day - how low carb, how much fat, how much protein? I don&#39;t think munching on the nuts is helping. Its real easy to overdo them.

On a podcast with Robb Wolfe among other things he talks about the best way to lean out is with low carb - up to 50g for women,fibrous green vegies, fat, fish oil and caloric restriction.

http://robbwolf.com/?p=864

http://blog.adonislifestyle.com/how-many-calories-do-you-need-to-lose-weight/

http://fitnessblackbook.com/dieting_...apid-fat-loss/

Sue

Some of the highlights (summarised by Rusty of Fitness Black Book) of Adonislifestyle podcast - middle link:

"Some Highlights…

1. People should aim to eat 400-500 below their BMR when losing weight.

2. Since BMR accounts for 80% of calories burned, use that as your baseline.