Thread: Beginner Exercise Regimen? page

SK1
    SK1 is offline Member

I have been eating primal for about 2 months now, and I feel like I have a good handle on it. Now I'd like to move on to the primal exercise philosophy. I understand it (I have read the book), but I am afraid I am not doing enough. I would love some tips for a beginner who cannot accomplish a pull-up yet (I just tried at the playground.)

Some things about me:

1. I live in the city, so I naturally walk a lot. I always take the stairs and tend to prefer to walk rather than drive, etc. I get a decent amount of low-level activity this way, however, going into cold, snowy winter this starts to decrease.

2. I do not currently have a gym membership, and most likely will not get one (unless I find something affordable nearby. I do take dance classes once or twice a week (they are about 75 min long, usually hip hop or jazz)

3. The most "in-shape" I have ever felt is after a year of consistent cardio kickboxing classes at a martial arts studio. It was so great for core strength and I always felt such an adrenaline rush - also sweated a TON. I wonder now if it was a bit too much (chronic cardio-land?) Though it was combined with a lot of strength exercises...

4. I would like to lose about 10-15 lbs or more of extra fat and/or go down 2 pants-sizes.

5. I am female, 29 years old.

Today I went to the park and did sprints for about 20 minutes, I walked to and from the park and walked around in between. It felt good but I didn't come home dripping in sweat which is what I used to equate with a good workout - so did I not push myself hard enough?

When lifting heavy things, are bodyweight exercises (like pushups, squats, and planks) enough to start with or do I need extra weight? How many reps should I do/how long should I be training each day?