Thread: Training for a power lifting competition, change anything? page

Primal Fuel

I follow the PB 6/7 days of the week, with a refeed on Saturday nights. I have been bodybuilding for about 2 years now, but starting tomorrow with my trainer, I will be training for a power lifting competition.

Can anyone tell me if there is anything I should change in my diet, or just keep things the same?

TaydaTot is offline Junior Member

Cool. Good luck with your competition. I am not a power lifter but I love strength training. Power lifting is a much different arena than bodybuilding with different goals. It is not about looking good or necessarily even being the "strongest" it is about completing the lift with as much weight possible. Technique will be critical - you will want to use every mechanical advantage to complete the lift. And if you truly want to move as much weight as possible being strong helps . To get strong you need to give your body the best opportunity to recover, rebuild and stimulate growth. To do that you simply need to lift more, eat more, and sleep more. It is simple but that is what it boils down too, the hard part and art of it is making that happen.

Is it possible to do both? Train for a power lifting competition AND maintain a bodybuilder's build, maybe even increase muscle mass with the change in training?

TaydaTot is offline Junior Member

Of course, if you want to do both you can. You certainly don't have to abandon one to do the other. I mean, there can and should be a ton of carry-over between the two disciplines but it is always harder to try to do two separate things at once. With that said, there will be certain compromises and accommodations you will have to make.