Thread: Cheating just a little page

Glenn is offline Senior Member

Cheating just a little

I've been on primal + stronglifts 5x5 for almost a month and a half now. Everything is going great, I'm losing weight every week and my lifts are going up 5lb each workout. I've lifted on and off as a hobby for years but never combined it with diet.

Anyway, I started light on all the lifts because it's better to start too light then too heavy. Still easily throwing around some of the lifts. Squats are starting to push me this week but the lift that really has me trying is the overhead press. I've never done this one before and started it with stronglifts.

Today I bumped it up to 115lbs and on the second set I was actually really pushing to complete the last two reps. On the third set I used a staggered stance and when I went to go lift it I slightly bent and extended my knees to build a small amount of momentum. This worked out great and I pretty much blasted through the next three sets.

So I guess what I want to know, or be reassured of, is that is doing that ok? The way I figure it is that it's ok to cheat just a tad and create that small amount of momentum if it means I get to keep adding 5lbs more each workout.

Abu Reena is offline Senior Member
    No. It's not. What you are doing is half a press and half a push-press. If you want to do a push press do a push press. If you want to press, press.

If you can't add the weight each week, then you need to plateau for a little while and then try to add more. Or, try some non-linear strategy (Texas, 5/3/1, what have you) to bust through the plateau. But the goal is to get strong, not to increase the numbers. You don't get strong by pushing up with your legs, unless that is the lift you are trying to do.