Thread: Went of my first run! page

Went of my first run!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Met a running group tonight here in the small Chicago suburb I just moved to. I ran with my Suunto HRM on to get some basic info:

Distance: 3.1 miles
    Time: 40 minutes
    Max HR: 190
    Avg HR: 185
    Est kcal: ~900
    5'8" - 193lbs.

I only had to slow down to a walk twice to calm the heart down a bit, not bad for my first attempt. The Vibram's did great!

I'll be running half the SF Marathon with my sister July 30th. After tonight, I'm not too worried. I'm concerned about striking a balance between the training for this, karate, and the hi-intensity strength training (superslow protocol) I've been doing. I'm thinking perhaps just back off the leg press to every other or 3rd workout.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Check some of the threads on running if you haven't already.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

It is interesting, the vibrams are working well, except that one of my toes on my right foot is not straight, this one seems to protest some after a run. I may need to look at other running shoes, or perhaps this will happy in any shoe I just don't know it yet.

Same distance today... 7 minutes faster , avg heart rate down to 175 after doing sprinting the previous sunday...!

Alex Good is offline Senior Member
    A running group? Like those groups of 10-15 people jogging close together in brightly coloured clothing? Monsieur, I laugh at you.