Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Should beer count as "grains" or not? page

  1. #1
    bookstorecowboy's Avatar
    bookstorecowboy is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    Posts
    255

    Should beer count as "grains" or not?

    Your thoughts?

  2. #2
    Alex Good's Avatar
    Alex Good is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    The Maritimes
    Posts
    3,576
    Hard cider.
    In all of the universe there is only one person with your exact charateristics. Just like there is only one person with everybody else's characteristics. Effectively, your uniqueness makes you pretty average.

  3. #3
    O_O's Avatar
    O_O
    O_O is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    867
    I gave up beer because of the toxic effect I had from the gluten it contained.

    I would count it as a grain unless you happen to have found a beer made without grain.

  4. #4
    kbn1's Avatar
    kbn1 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Good View Post
    Hard cider.
    Applejack.

  5. #5
    Dave_o's Avatar
    Dave_o is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nort West Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    418
    No.
    Neither should the estrogenic effects of hops be a concern. It all gets taken care of in the fermentation process.

    It's quite common to produce gluten free beer, plenty of home brewers do it.

  6. #6
    GreenLightJerky's Avatar
    GreenLightJerky is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_o View Post
    No.
    Neither should the estrogenic effects of hops be a concern. It all gets taken care of in the fermentation process.

    It's quite common to produce gluten free beer, plenty of home brewers do it.
    Could the same be said about soy sauce? It is 'brewed' as well.
    My name is Matt and I am a Beef Jerky Wizard.
    www.greenlightjerky.com

  7. #7
    Dave_o's Avatar
    Dave_o is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nort West Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    418
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenLightJerky View Post
    Could the same be said about soy sauce? It is 'brewed' as well.
    As far as I know the enzymes produced during fermentation destroy the gluten. Many soy sauce producers claim this also.
    Unless you consume soy sauce by the pint it shouldn't be a problem.

  8. #8
    O_O's Avatar
    O_O
    O_O is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    867
    You can get wheat free tamari a naturally brewed soy sauce whereas the cheap soy sauce has wheat as an ingredient.

  9. #9
    Griff's Avatar
    Griff is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,827
    Yes. Beer belly = wheat belly. Same thing, no difference, no good reason to have the stuff. Ditch it.
    Primal eating in a nutshell: If you are hungry, eat Primal food until you are satisfied (not stuffed). Then stop. Wait until you're hungry again. Repeat.

    Looking for my Cholesterol Primer? Here it is: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...mer-(Attempt-2)


    Ditch the scale!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread33283.html

    My Success Story: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread30615.html

  10. #10
    Dave_o's Avatar
    Dave_o is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nort West Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    418
    Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Quote Originally Posted by Griff View Post
    Yes. Beer belly = wheat belly. Same thing, no difference, no good reason to have the stuff. Ditch it.
    Horse shit.

    Its the large pizza ect you order when you're drunk.

    Enjoy your beer.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •