Thread: Low blood sugar post-workout page

Tawny is offline Senior Member

Low blood sugar post-workout

Shop Now
    I've been eating strict PB for 8 weeks now, off-and-on for the last 8 months. My workouts include 20-30 miles per week of running/walking and strength training 2-3x/wk. When I started strict PB, I took it easy with the weights, stayed at maintainance until 2 weeks ago, when I began a structured program.
    I eat a good breakfast, do workouts at lunch (about 5 hours post breakfast), then eat dinner about 5 hours later- 2 meals/day. Daily carbs are well below 100g, though I haven't counted for several weeks. I've got about 20 pounds left to lose, have been doing well with my current eating strategy.

On Saturday, I was really tired, so upped my carb intake for the day, which worked well. During today's workout, I became very shaky and fatigued and was worried that I might pass out. I am working to muscle exhaustion purposefully, and have made strength gains over the last 2 weeks, but I'm wondering if I should be taking in carbs before/during/after my workout. I did drink coconut water immediately afterward today (22g carbs), but still shaky, and had to sit in car for a while before I felt comfortable driving. I know it's because I'm glycogen-depleted, but I don't want to shortchange any gains I've made in ketoadaptability...I might just need reassurance that this is what's supposed to happen .

Any suggestions, threads I should read, other resources? I did a search of the forum but didn't find anything that seemed to fit. Thanks for your help!

pyro13g is offline Senior Member
    I would actually test your blood sugar after because what you describe can also be related to overtraining, breathing technique, big stress response. I've felt like that from time to time and bounce back with no post-work out carbs. Can also be normal for very high level of intensity.