Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: teeth grinding page

strom is offline Senior Member

teeth grinding

Shop Now
    I have the teeth grinding. I guess its called tinnitus? I have grinded away a lot of my teeth. So I have been wearing mouthguards at night for several years. I go through them every 6 months or more. Expensive too. I did not listen to loud music regularly and the grinding has been going on for more than a decade. It was worse last night, since my lower teeth were sore, and this was after 700 mg of magnesium citrate and a epsom salt bath. I do have fillings but I don't believe they have mercury in them.

Canarygirl is offline Senior Member
    If it were me and the magnesium isn't helping, I would eat carbs before bed for the relaxing effect of the serotonin release. Then do the low carb thing in the daytime hours. Also try taking L-tryptophan before bed (with your carbs). Try it and see if it helps.
    I'm a quitter...but I'm back now.

Eklecktika is offline Senior Member
    My son does this, he grinds so hard it makes me cringe. I did as well, prior to getting on adrenal support. My jaws would be so inflamed I couldn't close my mouth all the way-I'd have as much as a 1/2" 'gap' between my molars until the swelling went down. Broke my two wisdom teeth as well (the only ones I had) grinding.

DS does it much, much worse when he's under stress-any kind, good or bad (good stress = birthday party the next day, something exciting planned, etc.)

Magnesium was a joke for bruxism (tinnitus is ringing ears ) for us; Pantethine 500mg and Pyrodoxine 250 mg (B5 & B6) plus 100 mgs Bcomplex are the only things that even remotely help for DS...but depending on the situation, even they aren't a fix.
    Chief cook & bottle washer for one kid, a dog, 6 hens, 2 surprise! roosters, two horses, and a random 'herd' of quail.

~The ultimate ignorance is the rejection of something one knows nothing about and refuses to investigate~